Julia Read

Bagpiper & Harpist, Marlow, UK

Hire Bagpiper>Bagpipes: Reviews

Contact me to hire a

Bagpiper or pipe band

Client reviews - Bagpipes

wedding bagpipes

Sophie and Kiran wedding

Burnham

Neil Walker 5 November 2021, Wedding Piper Burnham

"Julia, we cannot thank you enough for helping to make Sophie and Kiran’s wedding a simply magical day. So many guests have complimented you, but many with Scottish heritage were simply astounded by what you played. I only wish we’d had the chance to really thank you on the day, as you were absolutely brilliant!! Wishing you all the best, and only too pleased to recommend you to others !!"

Bagpiper with bride and groom

Gayle and Neil Wedding

Berkshire

Gayle and Neil 18 June 2021, Wedding Piper Berkshire

"Our original piper emailed me at 9:30am on our wedding day to cancel the booking for valid reasons however, they did not call me and it was only by chance I saw their email. We found Julia who luckily was free, she had around two hours notice to put on her Highland dress, drive 12 miles, set up and play for our guests. She was there on time and learnt the song I wanted piped down the isle to, on the way. She was amazing, and played absolutely beautifully. I wanted to wait to walk down the isle so I could hear her play more of the song that I loved, it made me so emotional hearing her play. Our guests loved her too, and all complimented on how well she played. I would recommend Julia for your event and she will always be my first piper to call for any future events. We are eternally grateful for all that you did Julia, thank you

Wedding Piper

Piper wedding

Wiltshire

Heather Piper 13 Oct 2018, Wedding Bagpiper Wiltshire

I would rank Julia higher than full marks if possible! She was superb. My daughter had the unusual request of asking if Country Road by John Denver could be played at the wedding on the bagpipes. Julia happily agreed that it was possible. She went to the trouble of recording and sending a clip for my daughter’s approval. It was perfect! Julia arrived before everyone. Made friends with everyone and was certainly a hit. She performed more tunes than we initially requested and made suggestions of when and what would be good to play. I would most certainly recommend Julia to anyone and everyone. Thank you so much, our day was even more perfect than we ever imagined.

Bagpiper birthday

Birthday celebration

Farnham castle

Laura Francis 17 Nov 2018, Birthday Bagpiper Farnham

Very professional, extremely accomplished musician, friendly and accommodating to meet our requirements on the day. I have no reservations whatsoever in recommending her for any event, we will book her again. Julia is delightful, she genuinely cared about making the day very special for my elderly Scottish parents and her extra suggestions of when/where to play were really helpful! Thank you Julia

Bagpiper and Dhol Drummers

Lal wedding

Coventry

Hussan Lal, 23 Jul 2018, Indian Wedding Bagpiper Coventry

Just want to say thank you for everything you did. Brilliant, fantastic atmosphere as my son arrived at the wedding.

Burns Night Bagpiper

Burns night

Beaconsfield

Adrian Norris 25 Jan 2008, Burns Night Bagpiper Beaconsfield

Julia was booked for this most important role at this high profile charity ball. She came dressed in a smart piper’s uniform with a beautiful set of bagpipes and played very professionally at various times during the evening: whilst guests arrived, inside during the dinner and most importantly piped in the haggis! She contributed tremendously to the atmosphere of the evening and was very co-operative in the choice of music and greatly applauded. Just what one would expect from a bagpiper. She has performed for us since at various family gatherings. I would highly recommend Julia as a solo bagpiper

Wedding Bagpiper playing for guest arrival

McLean wedding

Surrey

Colin Mclean 29 Sep 2018, Wedding Bagpiper Surrey

An inspired and inspiring choice for my daughter’s wedding reception in the beautiful and thankfully sunny Surrey countryside. Highest possible marks and largest thanks to Julia for her support, timeliness but above all for her immaculate and moving piping. Our guests were thoroughly spoilt and many too were visibly moved. Thank you Julia

Bagpiper playing for Bride arrival

Milsom wedding

Marlow

Emily Milsom 30 Jun 2018, Wedding Bagpiper Marlow

Julia did a fantastic job at our daughter’s wedding, playing outside the church as all the guests arrived and then playing for my husband and daughter as they walked right up the church path. She kept us very well informed before the date and came up with loads of ideas and options to make the entry into the church really special. It was a sizzling June day and Julia was in full regalia but I never saw her flag. Professional, cheeful, great bagpipe playing, what more could you ask?

Dhol drummers with bagpiper

Singh wedding

Heathrow

Jatty Sira 1 Sep 2018, Indian Wedding Bagpiper Heathrow

Thank you Julia. Really made a great show to hear your bagpipes and dhol drummers.

Bagpiper leading bride and father of the bride

Smith Wedding

Amersham

Helen Smith, 16 Sept 2018, Wedding Bagpiper Amersham

I wanted to say again how brilliant you were at our wedding. Your performances still gets talked about with friends! As Richard says ‘I knew you were on your way!’

Thank you again.

Bagpiper piping in the haggis

Burns Night, Hockey club

Slough

Douglas Courtney 12 Mar 2018, Burns Night Bagpiper Slough

Julia provided a great attraction in a full pipers outfit at our Burns Night, not only piping at the entrance to our venue to welcome the guests as they arrived, but also accompanying the haggis, which made for a great atmosphere. Many of the guests complimented us on her playing and are looking forward to a repeat event next year

Bride and groom with bagpiper

Kevin and Karen Wedding

Pembroke Lodge, Richmond

Kevin O'Reilly, 18 May 2018, Wedding Bagpiper, Pembroke Lodge, Richmond Park

Thanks so much for your recordings we loved having a listen! We think the star wars, lord of the rings and Lion King medleys are fantastic, they will be a wonderful addition to the wedding.

You were fantastic on the day, really delivered what we asked for - a mix of traditional Scottish tunes and a processional medley of Star Wars, Lord of the Rings and The Lion King!


bagpiper piping in the haggis

Burns Night, Hampshire Lakes

Yateley, Surrey

Joan Russam, 25 January 2022, Burns Night, Hampshire Lakes Retirement Home

Thank you for making Burns night such a happy occasion. I’m sorry that our numbers were so depleted but those of us that were there loved it!

You looked and played beautifully.

Best wishes

More client reviews - Funerals, Burns nights, birthdays

Christine Ewing 21 May 2021, Funeral Bagpiper Oxford

Thank you so much Julia for your wonderful playing. Everyone thought you were wonderful.


Ruth McCall 29 April 2021, Funeral Bagpiper Amersham

I am writing to thank you so very much for turning out in the freezing rain yesterday to pipe our parents into the Milton Chapel and beyond. We all really appreciated the fantastic atmosphere your music gave us in these sad times of Covid. It is a wonderful thing you do. Thank you so much.


Lesley Newman 12 April 2021, Funeral Bagpiper Amersham

Thanks again for playing at mum’s funeral. The pipes made it very special. You really looked the part in the Black Watch tartan.


Beth Dawson 9 April 2021, Funeral Bagpiper Amersham

Thanks for your exquisite playing on Friday. We held a virtual wake that evening and everyone commented about how the pipes really lifted the occasion – with so few people allowed and no singing, it was great to have something that chimed so well with our family history. Thank you so much.


Neil Wilkie 17 Dec 2019, Funeral Bagpiper Christchurch

Julia was absolutely brilliant at my father’s funeral. Beautiful playing and very respectful


Rachelle Cornel 24 Jan 2019, Burns Night Bagpiper London

Julia was fantastic – would highly recommend! We have booked Julia many times to play for our London Burns night at a private London club. She never disappoints and is always very professional and really adds to the atmosphere.


Rachael MacKay 8 Dec 2018, Birthday Bagpiper Great Missenden

Julia was excellent. She arrived super early and looked absolutely fantastic. She was very accommodating with my daughter who wanted to ‘help’ and about the cramped space in a small old beamed pub. Wish we’d asked for another dance! Many thanks


Debbi 1 Sep 2018, Birthday Bagpiper Maidenhead

Julia came to play at my father’s 80th party last night as a surprise and he as well as all the other guests had great fun dancing along to the sound of the pipes. Great evening. Would definitely recommend Julia !


Paul Weighman Dip, FDMBIFD 22 Aug 2018, Funeral Bagpiper Godalming

I needed a piper to play at a funeral that I was arranging. When offered Julia, to my shame I was dubious about employing a female piper. I need not have had concerns – Julia was superb, truly superb. I would recommend her wholeheartedly. A true professional. Personable and approachable. Thank you


Hailey Kumar, 7 July 2018, Indian 1st Birthday Bagpiper Milton Keynes

Thanks for your patience last night Julia, sorry it was so delayed. Our daughter’s 1st birthday with bagpipes and dhol drummers was so special. Thank you.


John Cole 18 Apr 2018, Funeral Bagpiper Aldershot

Julia recently played at my wife grandfather’s funeral who sadly departed us. The overall level of professionalism, compassion and manner of Julia was unbelievable. Julia played her beautiful set of bagpipes and escorted the funeral hearse to the doors of the crematorium, where she was dressed fully in traditional Scottish piper’s uniform looking incredibly smart and eye catching. She then played the coffin into the crematorium where the coffin was on display and the service began, just before the end of the wonderful service Julia then played the beautiful ‘Amazing Grace’ as the curtains were shut. Julia’s music hit the heart strings of all the family and friends making us weep tears of sadness and remembrance. On behalf of the family and friends I would like to thank you for a beautiful service as a lone piper who made the day special. Recommendation 10 stars !!


Grace Cather 26 Jan 2018, Burns Night Bagpiper Brighton

Julia was a fantastic addition to the inaugural Roedean School Burns night. She was incredibly friendly and professional at all times and helped us out with some of the protocol for the night as well! Her playing was fantastic and really added to the atmosphere of the evening. We would definitely recommend her to others.


Simon Grimsey 31 Dec 2017 New Years Eve Bagpiper Oxford

I was a guest at a New Years eve party that Julia played at. She was great, really got the party going and such a surprise when she came in playing Auld Lang Syne. Then she got everyone jigging around, joining hands and dancing to a traditional Scottish jig. Absolutely fantastic.



Contact me to hire a

Bagpiper or pipe band